Uncategorized

Artsy fartsy stuff

So basically I like art, so much so that I’m going to study it at university come September. 

Art has always been a big part of my life from a young age. My Granda was a photographer and a painter and many of his paintings still hang proudly in his house. I would spend hours gazing at them wondering how he could do it and how I would make my drawings and paintings look like that. In primary school art was my favourite class of the week and I always strived to have the best project. I won competitions and I would be that nerdy girl that sat in a corner either reading or drawing in silence, tongue sticking out, when we got play time. 

When I began secondary school I got one whole hour of art a week and it was the class I looked forward to the most. I had a crazy teacher by the name of Mr Kerr that had a small tuft of hair on the top of his head making it look slightly onion shaped. He wore Doc Martins and trousers often covered in stray paint. he listened to reggae and often cracked hilarious and slightly inappropriate jokes. He was a complete madman and but I liked him. He was just what I imagined in an art teacher. 

I smiled my way through my classes making sculptures (which I have learned I’m not great at), designing outfits, making clay masks, and of course painting and drawing everything I possibly could. It was the class of my dreams. I was doing something I loved surrounded by a messy mish-mash of paintings, skulls, random household objects and my classmates who, as nicely as possible, we’re all that great at drawing. 

As we neared the halfway point of my first school year I was asked to be a tour guide along with a sixth year prefect for the school’s open day. Eager to please, I said yes and eventually the evening came. I led my little ducklings around the school, explaining the different rooms, the classes and their history. Then we made it to my art room. I had been in this room many times but I had only ever been with my own class. I had seen the paintings on the walls but I had never seen anyone painting them. On this night a sixth year girl was painting a portrait of a girl with red hair at an odd angle wearing a Cookie Monster top. I stood behind her and I watched every brush stroke until my designated sixth year had to drag me from the room. I will never forget that moment as it was the moment I realised this is what I wanted to do. I wanted to be able to paint like that and I wanted to have people stare in awe at my work. 

From that moment on I have worked hard in securing top marks at art GSCE and also at A- level. The art department of my secondary school was my haven, a place of extreme stress and extreme happiness. It is the place I will miss the most. 

I’m going to start a new chapter of my life, my next stop being Norwich, in order to educate myself further in the wonderful world of art and hopefully bring myself one step closer to the career I have always dreamed of having. 

Art is everything and everything is art. Don’t be afraid to follow your passion and go wherever it may take you.

Love Rebecca x 

Leave a Reply

