Feminism · Issues · sexuality

Am I A Feminist? 

Feminism, a term widely interpreted and misunderstood, has cropped up quite a lot for me within the last year. 

Maybe it’s because I moved from home for university and was surrounded by different types of people as my home town is largely made of clones or maybe it’s because faminism and the fight for equality is becoming a more well known issue.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot recently and what the term means. 

Feminism according to the Oxford dictionary is ‘the advocacy of women’s rights on the ground of equality of the sexes.’ 

This definition was a complete surprise to me as feminists get such a bad name of basically hating men or being butch lesbians that basically want to run the world. Yes there are always exceptions to the rule and yes there are going to be people who take it to the extreme and do maybe view males as the weaker race but that minority do not speak for the whole feminist movement. It is about so much more. It is about EQUALITY.

Over the last year I’ve developed the opinion and views that I, as a woman, need to stand up for myself and what I believe in which I began to do subtly. I realised I shared a lot of these views with people who call themselves feminists. 

One big thing for me was the Free The Nipple campaign. I knew a photography student who was focussing on this as a project and she had her images taken down from social media because of nudity. I found this ridiculous as the only ‘issue’ was that she was topless  yet how many men post topless images online which aren’t removed?? It frustrated me that women’s nipples were censored and men’s were not. 

During the time I was developing these opinions I began to wear non padded, fabric bras simply because they were pretty and comfy and a family member proceeded to tell me that I shouldn’t because my nipples could sometimes be seen through my top. So what? I told them about my thoughts on the recent Free The Nipple campaign and they laughed in my face, making fun of the fact I was jumping on the bandwagon with the other lesbians. And it hurt. 

This seems to be a general idea of society and frankly it’s a bit shit that so many women around the world feel it’s stupid to fight for their own equality because they themselves have been so brainwashed by societies ridiculous standards and beliefs. 

Frankly if I have children in the future, male or female, I want them to grow up in a world where they can feel completely comfortable to be themselves. They can be loving and caring towards others regardless of sexuality, gender, religion or any other aspect of life. It saddens me there are such double standards that people have really lost sight of reason.

I know I’m not an expert on feminism and there are so many other aspects to it but each day I am agreeing more and more with the feminist movement and I am proud to call myself a feminist. I am not perfect but I think everyone on this earth should be equal and if I start with Free The Nipple then at least I’ve started somewhere. 

Helpful links: 

http://www.feminist.com

Emma Watson’s Speech

Leave a Reply

