book review

‘Misery’ – Review 

*SPOILER WARNING* 

Following in my parents’ footsteps I’m slowly making my way through Stephen King’s wonderful novels, my third being ‘Misery’. 
Having heard Kathy Bates was in the film version this book was a must for me. I reluctantly opened the first page after reading the blurb and realising there were pretty much only two characters for the whole 370 pages.

Misery is a novel about writer, Paul Sheldon, famous for his ‘Misery’ series who has an almost fatal car accident. Annie Wilkes, his No1 fan, happens to come across the mess in the show and pulls her hero out. She then takes him back to her secluded cabin to look after him but everything turns sour when Annie finds out Paul has killed her beloved Misery. 

‘Misery’ is a real page turner and I was hooked right away. The storyline had captured me but I was incredibly aprehensive about the small cast of two. The story is set mostly in one room with Annie and Paul and, had it been in the wrong hands, could have ended up being an incredibly boring story but this really added to the tension and made it much more intimate~very clever writing. 

Annie is a facinating character. Her rages contrast her moments of child-like emotion where I almost felt sorry for her. She is so unpredictable it creates a massive tension as a reader the whole way through. Her back story is crazy yet strangely understandable and believable  under the circumstances. At times I completely understood Annie and felt she needed protection from the big bad world, yet at other times I wanted nothing more than Paul to kill her then and there and protect the world from this mad woman. I enjoyed the change of pace her rages and peaceful moments caused within the story. 

I found Paul was a weedy man but I found him likeable probably because he was being held captive by a crazy woman. His thoughts were relatable and desperate yet you could see his strength dwindle and build again in response to his captor’s actions. I enjoyed the little twist at the end where Paul had basically gonna mad from his experience to others but when it was just him I really felt for Paul and he seemed completely ordinary and sane under these extreme circumstances. 

I loved the tiny details Stephen King added with this book such as the penguin statue and things like the wheelchair marks on the door frame. They gave the story so much character within its one setting and small cast. 

So far this is my favourite book by Stephen King and I look forward to finally allowing myself to watch the film! 

Leave a Reply

