mental health · student

All Good Things Come To An End 

At the end of August I moved back to England to start a new year at university, a different university and a different place from the previous year. 

My first year of uni wasn’t particularly great and despite my excitement of moving in with my girlfriend and starting afresh I was still terrified and still lay awake at night worrying about if I would like it. Before moving in I told Tarryn how anxious I was about our new home. 6 people is a big house and we didn’t know the boys all that well. I was worried I would end up back where I was last year getting no sleep, having panic attacks and missing home. 

I shouldn’t have been worried but that’s a natural thing. I’ve now been in our new house for almost a week and although I haven’t started my course yet I am incredibly happy. The house is gorgeous, having just been done up, with a new kitchen, bathroom, living area and a new bedroom. My housemates are caring, considerate and funny people who I know will teach me so much this year. Having Tarryn here is also a massive bonus and I feel so privileged to have her by my side in our first house together. 

This time last year I was excited about starting over, moving to norwich and beginning uni. A couple months in I wanted nothing more than to go home. I worked incredibly hard to keep my spirits up as much as I could despite sometimes not even wanting to get out of bed. I never thought it would be possible for me to feel so content away from home. I will always miss my family and Ireland but for now I’ve got a pretty good thing going on right here. 

Mummy always told me ‘All good things come to an end, but that means the bad things come to an end too’ and that got me through and kept me positive. She was right. The bad came to an end and now I’m at the good part. I know the good will end and I will still face bad things in my life but these things don’t last forever. There’s always a light at the end of the tunnel no matter how dark it may seem.  

Leave a Reply

