30 Day Blog Challenge

30 Day Blog Challenge ~Day 30~

My views on growing up 

Well folks here we are. Day 30-week 30 technically. To those that have read every week thank you! I really enjoyed writing these posts and I hope to do something similar in the future so if you have any ideas on what you’d like to read let me know.

I feel like this question comes to me at a premature age. I’m now 20. I finally made it out of my teenage years although I’m still a student that still has to face the full force of the big, bad world.

In the last year I feel I have done the most growing and maturing. I thought at age 16 I knew it all and the same at 17, 18 and 19 but here I am now age 20 with so much more knowledge and experience than even a year ago.

I’ve had 2 years at being an adult legally however, I am still so far away from being a grown up.

Growing up is exceptionally difficult but I feel I grew up in a home where responsibility and independence were encouraged which I am incredibly thankful for. I’ve been more prepared to make it on my own than a lot of other people. 

Don’t get me wrong, it’s still difficult. I still sometimes want to stop the adult train and get off. I took for granted always having a full fridge, being able to ask for money from parents, buying that pretty dress just cause I wanted it. So much about growing up is difficult like paying bills, budgeting, making sacrifices, motivations yourself, however, it is also incredibly liberating. 

I have learned so much about myself in the last couple of years. I have learned my limitations, I have pushed myself and I have faced fears and challenges. I have created a different life for myself than before and best of all I have learned how to appreciate my life and all of the things in it. 

Growing up mostly feels like when you think there’s another step but your foot falls through the air and your stomach momentarily flips. It feels like freedom and excitement and terror and worry. It feels like a lack of preparation that no amount of organisation can fix. It feels like happiness and joy. 

I wouldn’t change it for the world even if I could. I can’t wait to see what I learn and experience in the future.

Leave a Reply

